Walmart Self-Checkout Takeover!

Automation is taking over jobs but there is a Solution!

Yohan J.
2 min readApr 8, 2023
Image by <a href=”https://www.freepik.com/free-vector/isometric-self-service-cashier_8812834.htm#query=Self%20Checkout&position=8&from_view=search&track=ais">Freepik</a>

My Team Mate at work told me about how Walmart in her place has only Self-Checkouts! Checkout has now become fully automated! In this world of Cashiers slowly being replaced by Self-Checkout kiosks what can Cashiers do?

I then had a brilliant idea! I was wondering if big companies like Wal-Mart, Costco, Aldi, Whole Foods, and other grocery and fast food restaurants can offer their cashiers Free education to be certified Kiosk Technicians!

<a href=”https://www.freepik.com/free-photo/smiling-happy-elecrticians-wear-uniform-have-joyful-expression_9879315.htm#page=3&query=technician&position=39&from_view=search&track=sph">Image by wayhomestudio</a> on Freepik

Automation is going to be replacing many jobs but that doesn’t mean the company can just let go of all of these employees. Reprocess positions and if people who are in danger of losing their jobs are offered to be reprocessed into new jobs like Kiosk Technicians everyone can be a little bit more sustainable and people won’t lose their jobs.

Thanks for giving me the chance to share my thoughts with you all!

--

--

Yohan J.

I.T. Tech Support and Hobbyist Musician! Love to share my ideas with you all! How my Mustard Seed size Hope became a Mountain of Opportunities!!!😊